Poem – Once Your Fist Came Down


(on domestic abuse – dismay and sadness about how love that is the most beautiful thing in the world transforms into something intensely evil)

One day, I put my trust in a man, you!

With love and longing, I said, I do

We promised to stand, side by side

In the ebb of life, and during low tide

 

Your smile was gentle, touch compassionate

My response was intense, fully passionate

You squeezed a bit tighter, never to let go

Fear then anxiety.  Then anger, hate, scarring us so.

 

When t’was the transition we made

From love, care, to hate and beyond

Once your fist came down…..

Followed by the kick with a frown

 

Like a broken necklace spilling the beads

My trust shattered, amidst your pleas

Our love pulverized in dry, arid land of hate

To me you became a monster, not my mate

 

When your punches stopped, my scars healed

Your words kept ringing, my hurt never ceased

Why t’was the transition we made

From love, care, to hate and beyond

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

