Poem – Let me count the ways


(on domestic abuse – I served on the board and heard all sorts of stories of abuse)

First I will claim to love you
You are mine and I know what is good for you
I am not difficult to please
In fact, sometimes I am very easy to please
Sometimes I am difficult
Well, I am unpredictable
But you should understand me I have had difficult childhood
And you are difficult sometimes
Well often it is you, not me.
Sometimes I get upset, little too upset
When you nag and annoy me.
DON’T EVER run to your friends to show them the bruise
I forgive you.
I bring you flowers when you get upset.
I bring you flowers when I get upset.
That is what a relationship is
To forgive and stick together, no matter what.
I have told you that over and over
Marriage is sacred.
Nothing and no one should come between us.

Abuse: power & control behaviours

Abuse: power & control behaviours (Photo credit: moggs oceanlane)

You are leaving me? You are leaving me?
You DOLT, if only you knew what’s good for you.
You are messed up, incapable, ignorant, stupid
And now you will ruin the children
My precious little children
We are not done, because when you leave I will keep you entangled in legal nightmare
Let me see how you navigate the system
And if you don’t know what financial abuse means
Now you will learn all about it
First, I will file numerous motions I will claim everything to be mine
Then I will claim what is yours to be mine
I protected you and took care of you
You were safe with me
But your brain is messed up with Thoughts of independence and freedom
See how much freedom there is

In the world of technology I can monitor your every move
By hacking into your emails
By writing rubbish in your name I can use your information To slander, malign, and ruin you
You DOLT, you think you can ever leave me?

Enhanced by Zemanta

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

